Semi-Precious Gemstones

Looking for gemstones? Seeds of Wellness offers a variety gemstones. Below is a list of some of the gemstones we provide:

  • Agates – Blue lace, Botswana, green moss, Lake Superior, and moss
  • Aventurine – green, peach, red
  • Jaspers – Bloodstone, burgundy, leopard skin, mookaite, picture, red, unakite, zebra
  • Moonstone
  • Quartz – Amethyst, carnelian, citrine, clear, onyx, rose, smoky
  • Petrified wood
  • Ruby
  • Selenite
  • Shiva lingham
  • Shungite
  • Tiger’s eye – Brown, red, and blue 

Come in and see our carved, geodes, generators, hearts, obelisk, pendulums, points, raw, tumbled, and wand gemstones.

We also provide handmade jewelry by local artisans – necklaces, earrings, and bracelets. Check out our figurines, tealight holders, and handcrafted gemstone trees.

Precious vs. Semi-precious Gemstones

Precious gemstones are diamonds, rubies, emeralds and sapphires. These stones have been considered precious since the min-1800’s due to their rarity. All the other stones are considered semiprecious. However, this does not mean that precious gemstones cost more than semiprecious gemstones. Some jades and opals have been sold for over $1 million.

Natural vs. Lab-created Gemstones

Natural stones are created in and mined from the earth. However, sometimes the natural stone’s color and/or clarity are enhanced through a treatment process, such as heat. There are gemstones being created in laboratories which look like natural stones. Opalite, diamonds, rubies and other stones are created using the same composition as natural stones to make gemstones more affordable. Neither of these gemstone types should be confused with imitation gemstones. These stones are made using dyes, paint, foil, glass and various other materials. For example, cubic zirconia is an imitation gemstone.

Balancing Your Chakras with Gemstones

Do you feel your energy and/or body is out of balance? Using gemstones that correspond to each chakra can help re-align your energy and body.

Below is a guide to help you choose a gemstone for each chakra:
  • Root – Bloodstone, Hematite or Red Jasper

  • Sacral – Carnelian, Moonstone or Amber

  • Solar Plexus – Citrine, Yellow Tiger’s Eye or Calcite

  • Heart – Rose Quartz, Jade or Rhodochrosite

  • Throat – Kyanite, Turquoise or Lapis Lazuli

  • Third Eye – Amethyst, Lepidolite or Fluorite

  • Crown – Clear Quartz, Selenite or Diamond

Note: Different sources name different gemstones, but the ones listed above are the most common.

To balance a chakra, lay on your back. Place the gemstone on or near its corresponding chakra. Close your eyes and visualize your energy flowing freely through that chakra for 7 to 15 minutes. You can balance several chakras by placing a gemstone on each chakra you need to balance.
These stones can also be placed near you as you sleep, wearing them as jewelry or carrying them with you. The closer the gemstone is to its corresponding chakra the faster the gemstone balances that chakra
Some gemstones help balance the chakras in more than one way:
  • Smoky Quartz – grounds the chakras from the crown to the root

  • Malachite – opens and cleanses all the chakras

  • Tourmaline – cleanses and protects all the chakras

  • Kyanite – aligns all the chakras to each other

Note: Before and after the chakra balancing, the gemstones you used should be cleansed with salt water, placing in the sunlight or putting the gemstones with Citrine or Kyanite.

When your chakras are in balance you may feel relaxed, less stressed and/or energized. However, balancing your chakras is not a medical solution. Call your doctor if you are experiencing any health concerns.